Day 108 – An End in Sight

Not one, but four prescriptions came out of my visit to the medical clinic today.  The ear pain hit in the middle of the night and I woke up with a fever so couldn’t wait for my naturopath appointment at 2pm and they couldn’t see me any earlier.

The clinic visit was surprisingly very pleasant – new offices just down the road and I only waited for twenty minutes before getting seen.  The cough I started with was likely viral but it seems I made it worse going on the camping trip and in my determination to not slow down, so that I also got a bacterial infection in my ears.

After poking around my ears and listening to my breathing, the young doctor determined there is fluid in my lungs, infection in both ears plus my elevated temperature.  Yikes.  I’ve never had antibiotics as an adult until today.  I also have an inhaler which I’ve never tried, Mucinex tablets (hate those commercials) and ear drops for the pain.  I literally passed out all afternoon and just now found some energy later in the day along with a normal temperature.  Unfortunately my ear is still blocked though with slightly less pain.

I am very grateful for the friends who helped me out with bringing Emelia home from school today and taking her to dance.  Another friend just finished a batch of kombucha so as soon as I am done with the medicine I will be sipping on the golden liquid in the glass bottle she gave me as a means to regenerate the healthy bacteria I want in my digestive system.  Yum.  Emelia rubbed my head and brought me a water bottle and Nicholas kept giving me hugs so I may not have been able to do wonders for my own self care today, but I had others taking care of me.  I see light now. Finally.

Leave a comment